Choosing Wisely to Recognize the ‘Champions’ Driving Innovation in Health Care

Jun 21, 2018

ASCP’s Choosing Wisely Champions program is seeking to recognize individual clinicians, as well as pathologists, laboratory professionals, and clinical teams for their commitment to the ABIM Foundation’s Choosing Wisely Campaign.

Since ASCP joined the Choosing Wisely campaign in 2013, many members have been working to advance its ideals, which are intended to reduce test overuse and to encourage clinicians and patients to question which tests are really necessary to reduce test overuse and improve the nation’s healthcare system.

“The Choosing Wisely Champions program seeks to recognize individual clinicians for their contributions to the campaign, inspire clinicians seeking to implement Choosing Wisely in their own practice, and demonstrate how clinicians are driving change in health care,” said Lee H. Hilborne, MD, MPH, DLM(ASCP)CM, FASCP, Chair, ASCP Effective Test Utilization Subcommittee. “Clinicians can learn from one another by highlighting exemplars.”

When nominating a Champion, some areas to consider include individuals or teams that have:

•             Advanced Choosing Wisely in their practice

•             Played a major role in development of Society recommendations

•             Helped educate Society members about Choosing Wisely and/or 

•             Conducted measurement of recommendations

•             Validated research of importance of recommendations

•             Demonstrated leadership of a localized Choosing Wisely effort

•             Served as a spokesperson for the Society or campaign

Nominations should include a brief description of how clinicians are implementing Choosing Wisely and examples of how those contributions are advancing the goals of the campaign. Because Choosing Wisely is focused on evidence based findings, please provide any data, metrics, articles, and impact reports if it they are available. Finalists are selected based upon the responses to the criteria and the extent of data provided.

The deadline for submitting nominations is July 12, 2018. Please submit all materials to Edna Garcia, MPH, Senior Manager, Scientific Engagement and Research, ASCP Institute of Science, Technology and Policy, at